The Level 3 Award in Supporting the Survivors of Domestic Abuse

The Level 3 Award is an excellent entry level qualification for core practitioners who support the survivors of domestic violence. VQAS have recently undertaken work with SFJ Awards to revise and update the qualification. The Award consists of three mandatory units two of which are knowledge based.

  • Understanding the support implications for survivors of domestic abuse
  • Understanding how to respond to the needs of survivors of domestic abuse
  • Establishing the needs of survivors of domestic abuse

The Award forms the basis of a Training Programme which we deliver alongside staff from Domestic Abuse organisations. The Programme, which can be delivered remotely comprises of:

  • A full induction and initial training session followed by two further training and support sessions.
  • Three VQAS Centre designed Workbooks to aid Learning and cover knowledge requirements of the Award
  • A Professional Discussion conducted by the Assessor to check understanding and link understanding to practise
  • An observation of the Learner in their work which can be undertaken by an Expert Witness employed by the organisation.

The fee for the Level 3 Award will vary according to Learner numbers and approach taken but a guide price would be £1450 per Candidate but this fee can be reduced significantly if we trained up one of your staff is to act as an Assessor.

A small price to pay to increase the professionalism of your staff and enable them to work in a safer and more effective way. Further information regarding our approach to fees can be found on the About us page.

For individuals who are not currently working in the sector we are able offer participation in the remote Training Programme and assessment of the Workbooks to enable them to achieve the first two units of the Award. The fee for individual participation would be £1000 payable in three instalments.

VQAS have been successfully delivering this qualification for a number of years and it is well received by organisations and the staff who undertake the Award.

“The Level 3 qualification offers us the ability to ensure that all practitioners have the necessary foundation in the required knowledge & understanding and practical support & advocacy skills.  The teaching and assessment elements of the qualification offers a unique combination of theoretical learning & coursework, alongside the vocational assessment of this learning in practice.

CEO Domestic Abuse Organisation

“ It is remarkable the difference in the level of confidence the DAP staff have once they have undergone the VQAS training.  Doing the course gives them the opportunity to research and develop their skills and this is then reflected back in their practice. I am so grateful for the learning and upskilling opportunity this course brings.’ 

Community DAP Service Manager

‘Completing the award is providing me with a recognised qualification in supporting survivors of domestic abuse.  I thoroughly enjoyed learning about historical views and how we have changed societies views throughout the years. I also really enjoyed exploring further all the impacts of domestic abuse.’

Refuge Support Practitioner

Want further details?

If you are interested in finding out more about either the qualifications we are offering or qualifications we may offer in the future then please do contact us.

Send us a message